Dressing up Asparagus.

When May rolls around, asparagus begin to spring up at my local grocery store.  I look forward to eating our meals outdoors and enjoying the sun on my face.

Sadly, asparagus are often much maligned for their slimyness, which is really the effect of boiling them to death.

My favorite way to prepare them, which preserves their crunch, is simply to steam them. Most importantly, you must remove them from the heat as soon as they grow a vibrant, deep green colour, and quickly splash some cold water on them.

I transformed this bunch into a light lunch, by adding chopped baby tomatoes, boiled egg, and sliced up speck / prosciutto.

Then I topped it off with some Apple Cider Vinaigrette.

3 thoughts on “Dressing up Asparagus.

  1. I refuse to believe that it’s a coincidence that I learned of your food blog mere minutes after I found myself craving asparagus. (Yes, I crave vegetables. No, I am not pregnant!) I’m going to have to try this. 🙂

Leave a comment